Garage

Feb. 7th, 2026 09:04 pm
tiggymalvern: (Default)
The garage is as near to completion as it will be until the spring, after we finally got the people door properly painted and installed. There was a major delay there - it should have been done in mid December, except the door was delivered NOT painted and had to go back to the manufacturer because installing a bare untreated wood door in winter would be a very bad idea. And then nothing happened over Christmas and New Year, obviously, so it was actually the end of January when it came back. (And then it was another 2 weeks before I got around to making this post, because I've been in Writing Mode.)

It doesn't look it here because of the sunlight, but the people door is actually the same colour as the garage door, and the outside lights were installed at the same time too. So it's now a fully functional garage. The outside walls will be painted later in the year when it's not so cold and wet, so that the paint will actually dry, and the green roof planting still needs to be done. And after the roof is done, we can get the planting on the slopes alongside it done. But we can at least put a car in it now!



The garage door opener inside has a red light on it, so at night you can see a red glow through the upper windows and it looks like a portal to hell. Keep out if you value your life 😁
tiggymalvern: (fangirling!!!)
That person who went through my sprawling 230k epic a few weeks ago, commenting in detail on every part, made me go back and read the whole thing again myself. Twice. And we've been chatting back and forth a bit more, and I'd always intended there to be one more part to that story to finish it off, but I stalled on it a few thousand words in.

But now I'm all inspired again, and giddy and excited, and I'm back working on a WIP I abandoned in 2009. The best readers are absolute gold ❤️

(Though the timing could be more convenient. Since it's Christmas and I have stuff to do today, which will not be postponed regardless of the fact that I only slept for four hours last night because my head was alive with scenes and bitchy Sands dialogue.)

Anyway, Season's Greasons to all those who do this holiday, in whatever form 🎂
tiggymalvern: (Default)
It's been very damp here over the last week (and before that too). I got a free day off work yesterday because the Snoqualmie river got a lot bigger and the town I work in is currently an island. Not exactly unheard of for that town since the three roads into it all run alongside the river or cross it, but it's the first time it's happened in a few years. Last time was 2019, I think?

Heavy rain is supposed to hit again Sunday and Monday, which is sad, because that's when I'll be doing the Christmas Bird Count. Most years we get snow over in the mountains, not rain, but this year it's still too warm. So we'll be out in the grey and the damp and the mud, and the birds will sensibly stay in the bushes. I suspect it will be a low count year...
tiggymalvern: (fantastic!)
Yesterday evening I came home from work to find that someone had spent the day reading my circa 20 year old 230k word series for a very niche fandom, and had left detailed comments on every story in the series. After a tedious and sometimes frustrating day at work, that was just awesome ❤️ Today I am replying to their comments, and getting distracted by going back and reading parts of the stories myself - also awesome!
tiggymalvern: (Default)
I was away for five days, two of which were the weekend, but work continued for some of them. We now have all the beams in place and lumber between them - the shoring is basically complete! So now the massive drill and crane have been removed (improving access immensely) and the true process of excavation has begun...



There will be a post on my long weekend away when I have photos organised :-)
tiggymalvern: (charles-erik good isn't it?)
The people I know who went to Iceland all said, 'It's amazing!' They are right, of course - it is amazing. There will be photos. Far too many photos. But first I'll need to go through them all and organise them and that will take... a while. So first, some general thoughts and observations.

The hotels:
Many of the hotels in Iceland use geothermal spring water for their hot water. They're very proud of how eco-friendly it is, and rightly so. But it does mean that your showers smell faintly of sulphur.
When you get a double bed in your room in Iceland, you don't get a double duvet, you get two single ones. They also come neatly folded lengthwise into strips, so you have to make up your bed before you get in it, and then try and overlap the duvets in a way that doesn't mean you wake up in the night with a cold gap between them where you've been wriggling. I thought it was really weird the first night in the first hotel, but then all the others were the same. Apparently that's just what they do in Iceland. (I'm curious if people do the same thing in their own houses. Does the concept of a double duvet just not exist there or is it a hotel special?)

Food and drink:
1. Brennivin - basically Icelandic moonshine. Iceland had a period of prohibition when they weren't allowed to import any alcohol, so they did what everyone does in those circumstances and figured out a way to make their own from whatever was at hand. As a shot, it's quite potent in your throat (this from someone very partial to a single malt Scotch). Mixed with ginger ale and lime, it was delicious :-) I bought a bottle at the duty free on the way home.

2. Pickled cabbage. It comes with pretty much everything. Order a burger at the fast food place, it has pickled cabbage on it. Order a slow-braised beef cheek (or fish, it doesn't matter) at a far more upmarket place, and it comes with pickled cabbage. Personally I prefer my red cabbage raw and crispy as a salad, but I appreciate that in Iceland that would limit its availability to a few months of the year. It's fine, and not overly vinegary.

3. Skyr. A sort of Icelandic equivalent of Greek yoghurt. Also comes with everything. It's there on your plate with your main course. It's part of many cakes and desserts instead of cream. I'm not overly fond of the sour taste of yoghurt myself, never have been, but mixed with other flavours, the skyr isn't actively offensive.


The scenery:
Iceland really like white buildings with a red roof. All over the southern part of Iceland, the scenery was scattered farms and villages on the flat parts at the foot of the hills/mountains, often with waterfalls pouring down the cliffs behind, and all of them looking very much like this:





Which is in no way a bad thing :-)
There were often also Iceland ponies roaming in the fields. Apparently there's a pony in Iceland for every four people.

The weather we had on our trip was a typical mix, although the first week was unseasonably warm, being above freezing all day. We had some days or hours of glorious-if-chilly sunshine, some periods of rain and pretty strong wind (though fortunately only one afternoon when the two combined, and we decided it was too miserable to be out and went back to our hotel early), and then the last three days were colder with some snow, although only enough to really settle in the last 24 hours. With the landscape of black rock/sand and white ice/snow, I have many photos from overcast days that look like I shot them in black and white. But those will have to wait for later!
tiggymalvern: (embrace the darkness)
The big storm that went through on Tuesday evening took the power out for pretty much everyone on the east side of Lake Washington. Ours died just before 7pm and we got it back Friday evening.

We're used to power outages - lots of trees around here and the power company doesn't bury the lines, it hangs them on poles, right by the trees. They normally only last about 24 hours though. For the first couple of days, we're all, 'Que sera sera' but by day three tending to a wood fire and reading by solar powered lanterns after 5pm gets tedious. As does washing dishes by hand and cleaning cat litter trays, because the automated ones aren't working. At least we have a gas hob, so we can still cook and heat water.

The cats were deeply unimpressed by the whole experience. The heating vents don't work, the heated cat beds don't work, the water fountains don't work, the litter trays don't work - stupid humans, why don't you do your job and make things perfect for cats?

18 year old Kuro who has slept on my bed since he was six months old slept IN my bed for two nights for the first time ever. When the power's been out in the past, he's always preferred to stay on top of the covers, but now he's a skinny old man with not much muscle or body fat and he feels the cold more. Last night, with the power and heat back on, he crawled back inside the bed again at 4am, so I may have created a monster...

Kuro and Yami sharing a blanket in front of the fireplace. Normally their relationship is more tolerate than appreciate, but the cold makes for more willing bedfellows apparently!

Cat photos )

US politics

Nov. 6th, 2024 09:16 pm
tiggymalvern: (doom)
It was worse than I thought. I thought Trump would win because of the electoral college, but I was convinced he would lose the popular vote like he did in 2016.

Then we could say, 'Americans didn't want Donald Trump, he won because of an electoral quirk that rigs things in favour of conservatives.' This time we're stuck with no excuses - Americans really did choose a narcissistic, racist misogynistic criminal conman over a competent, qualified woman of colour.

And I am so fucking pissed off with Democratic self-sabotage. Ruth Bader Ginsburg was a fantastic woman who spent a lifetime fighting and winning on behalf of women and minorities - and then she destroyed half of her life's work by refusing to retire, by insisting that she would be a Supreme Court Justice for life. That stubbornness on her part led directly to the overturning of Roe and the suffering and deaths of the women she'd spent her career protecting.

Biden should have understood he'd be a one term President. He should have announced that two years into his term. The Dems could have chosen their candidate in the usual way, via primaries. That candidate would not have been Kamala Harris. She was not a popular VP. We can argue all day over why she wasn't popular - whether it was racism, misogyny, her record as a prosecutor. It doesn't matter. Everyone knew she wasn't popular. The Dems would have run a candidate against Trump who stood a better chance of winning. And maybe that candidate would still have lost - maybe the conservative backlash against trans rights and diversity programs would still have given Trump the Presidency. But we can't ever know, because Biden was too stubborn to accept that he was too damn old. He withdrew when it was too late to run anyone except Kamala. And I have nothing against the woman - I like her. But the numbers had made it clear that most people didn't and that made her a bad candidate.

Nobody should be aspiring to be President at 85. Nobody should be serving as a Supreme Court Justice while they're dying of cancer. Learn to fucking retire and do it strategically, and give up your own personal power for the good of your goals and your country. Because right now Dems with all the best intentions seem to be handing the country to Republican extremists on a plate.
tiggymalvern: (owl stare)
Yesterday was not my sister's 60th birthday, but it was the day we celebrated it. We spent the afternoon in a room at a pub in Chorley. At one point I went to the toilet and there was one stall with the door closed and three other women standing outside it giving her advice on her boyfriend through the door. Around 6pm we were walking through the town centre to a different pub carrying bunches of balloons and various other bits of clutter with random strangers yelling across the street, "Happy Birthday, whoever it is!" and it was all so very Lancashire.

Randomness

May. 22nd, 2024 03:37 pm
tiggymalvern: (need to read)
We're in Walla Walla this week on an anniversary trip, and we were just wine tasting at Kyle MacLachlan's winery. We were chatting with the winery lady about his career and got to talking about David Lynch's Dune.

Winery Lady: I never read the books.

My SO: I read them all. I always tell people to read the first three then stop. After that, they're all backstory and world-building without much plot.

Winery lady: (looks confused)

Me looking at this casually dressed middle aged woman who knows about wine-making processes in excessively nerdy detail: It's like the difference between reading The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion, if that makes any sense to you.

Winery lady: Ah, I see!

Sometimes you can take a pretty good guess about someone you don't know at all.
tiggymalvern: (huh?)
It's so annoying the way that radio stations change. You've been listening to Star 101.5 The Best of 90s to Now in your car for years, and then one day, surprise! That preset button is now a country music station called Hank FM.

There's no announcement. Star don't tell you, 'Hey, we got outbid, sorry, we'll be gone next week.' It's just sneaky. And then you have to try and find another decent radio station for that preset button.
tiggymalvern: (action!)
I have returned from my diving trip to God's Pocket, out beyond the northern tip of Vancouver Island. The diving was amazing, and the water was COLD (8-9C/46-48F). Even in a drysuit and heated vest it was cold. Around here where the water is typically 10-12C/50-54F, I don't get cold with the heated vest - that extra few degrees makes a hell of a difference.

The weather was mixed, but honestly, for March in Canada I'm not going to complain with what we got. The four days of travelling were sprinkled between sunshine and showers. Three of our diving days were glorious sunshine and one was overcast with a couple of showers. Our last diving day was the only one with significant wind, so we just dived the bay at the resort that day instead of going to the exposed places, and honestly I was happy with that. If we'd been weathered out the first day of our trip, everyone would have been annoyed, but after four days of hardcore diving, I wasn't going to argue with having a more relaxing day :-) And you get to see difference things in the sheltered shallows than you do out on the high current walls.

I'm tired now. There will be photos! There will be video! Eventually, when I make time to edit. Mostly what I've done so far since I got back last night is laundry...

Tiggy MIA

Mar. 22nd, 2024 02:22 pm
tiggymalvern: (owl stare)
I'm about to vanish for 6 days - by this evening, I'll be on a tiny little island off the northern coast of Vancouver Island which is mostly off grid. No phone service, generator power only. Technically there is internet, but very low bandwidth - I should be able to get text email, but the owners beg us not to try and send pictures. That level of slow. Remember the fun of the old dial-up days?

It will be Saturday of next week before I'm around again in the normal way. See you all then!
tiggymalvern: (huh?)
Last night I dreamed that I was back in college, and my supervisor assigned me to write a three thousand word Hercules: The Legendary Journeys fanfic on the theme of gravity. Then I forgot all about it, and the day before our next weekly meeting, I was panicking because I hadn't written it, or even thought about it.

I don't even like Hercules! (though I like Xena, obviously). I went to sleep thinking about Burn Notice fanfic, as usual.
tiggymalvern: (welcome to the world)
The very first smartphone I ever bought was an early iPhone, because at the time, they were the only company making good smartphones. It worked well, then reached the point where the storage wasn't enough, and there was no way to increase it.

The second smartphone I bought was a Samsung S3, because Android had caught up by then, and Apple are evil and a nightmare with their proprietary formats for music and well, everything, and they charge way too much. That phone was awesome. I dropped it many times and it didn't care. It was bombproof. I could expand the memory just by switching out the SD card. I loved it.

In 2018 I was forced to replace it, because half the apps I used refused to work unless I updated them, and then when I tried to update them, they said my phone was too old and was no longer supported. I cursed blue bloody murder, because I that phone was fantastic and it still functioned 100% perfectly. I'd had to replace the battery once because it started to swell - I ordered a new one online, switched them in 30 seconds, and that was the only trouble it ever caused me.

So five years ago, I bought a Samsung Galaxy A6. I cursed again at how much it cost (though still a LOT less than I would have paid for anything by Apple). I liked the way it worked (Samsung do good interfaces), but it had that shiny screen and case instead of the matt ones of my old S3. I dropped it once, if you can call it dropping - it slipped out of my fingers while I was sitting in the parked car (because everything's shiny and slippery), it slid down the side of the seat - and that was enough to crack the screen. Since then it's been held together by ever-increasing amounts of sellotape.

Recently the battery started to swell - that wasn't an issue in my old S3, but newer ones are harder to get into. A little online research told me that it's possible to order a new battery and change it with some effort - but if the screen's cracked, taking it apart becomes a nightmare.

I said screw this shit. I ordered a refurbished A6 online that cost me a hundred dollars. At that price, I don't care if it falls apart in a few years, or needs replacing because the battery swells or the apps throw a hissy fit - at twenty or thirty bucks a year, so what?

My response to companies making tech that needs to be replaced every few years is to say fuck you. I'll just stop buying new phones. The only people making a profit from me will be the companies selling them second-hand.

Same with printers. The first printer I ever bought was fantastic. Used it for years, simple, easy, hassle free. I only replaced it because I moved to the US with different plugs and voltages. The one I bought in the US worked well for quite a few years, until I replaced my PC and there weren't any drivers available for the new version of Windows. So I was forced to buy another - which has been finicky from the start, constantly needs head cleanings and other faffy things, then eventually reached the point where it was dropping lines and no amount of head cleaning worked.

So I said fuck it. I won't buy another printer, and now I just print everything out at the local library instead. I don't even have to pay unless I go over 10 pages a week. I have the hassle of having to go there, but I combine it with visits to other local shops so I'm not driving there for printing alone.

It's really annoying when we know how to make things well, but capitalism and corporate profiteering make things stop working so we have to keep buying. Some people can't afford to keep buying. I can, but I damn well refuse. And when I refuse, it helps keep the other resources in place so they're there for the people who can't. The whole damn world should go on anti-shitty-tech strike.
tiggymalvern: (Default)
The dearth of physical media is becoming more than irritating, it is becoming Massively Annoying.

This is an awesome but obscure series. My sister would love it. I want to buy it and send it to her for Christmas or her birthday. Can I do that? No I cannot. Because you fuckers won’t release it.

My friend Sheila would also love it. So would my friend Beth. I am literally willing to buy multiple physical copies of your product and evangelise it to so many people I know and you will not let me do that. You know what I am not ever going to buy my sister or my friend? A subscription to your streaming service.

You are screwing yourselves out of money. Money that I want to give you and I can’t.

Sod this. I’m going to start downloading everything from the pirate bay, burning it to DVD and physically mail it all over the world. You are forcing me to steal stuff that I Want To Buy. And I want you all to burn in hell for it.
tiggymalvern: (symmetry)
We just finished watching the first episode of the latest Black Mirror series, and in how many different ways can I start saying OMG?

I've loved Salma Hayek for years, ever since I first saw her in Desperado. She rocks. And as far as I can tell for an actor I really know nothing about, from what I read, she seems to be a more than reasonable human being? But she's absolutely AWESOME for doing this. Reading this script and everything involved, and saying, 'Hell, yes, I'll do that!' She really is that fabulous. I am sold.

And Charlie Brooker. How long ago must he have written this? At minimum a year, I assume, with time for edits, and casting and filming, then post-production edits, and for the whole series. Then it comes out practically simultaneously with all the stuff that's emerged this week about what the SAG were asking to people to sign and...

Hey, Charlie, can you please stop writing Do Not Create the Torment Nexus? Because every time you do, people create the fucking Torment Nexus. Just dodge that enormous orange-red ball next time, yes?
tiggymalvern: (good to be a lunatic)
I got my Burn Notice fic all edited and posted, yay! Although, while we were driving around on our long weekend four day road trip with the Sevens group, Fiona and Sam started talking in my head, and now I have 3k words of a new WIP. Plus the Murder Family WIP that I absolutely will get back to and finish at some point - I've invested way too much time and effort in that to let it be wasted.

So on top of the two WIPs, I have the road trip photos and video to sort through and post. Aaaaaand the photos from the car show we went to the weekend before. And also, it's SUMMER and the snow is melting out of the mountains, hiking time is upon us!

Plus yesterday, a new patch dropped for ESO with a new trial and a new landscape zone. Which of so many things to do first???
tiggymalvern: (crazy or what)
Every few years, I develop some crazy new fannish obsession. It’s been happening since I was seven years old (not that I knew what name to put on it then – I was nineteen before I discovered there was a thing called ‘fandom’ and other people like me). And every time it happens, it completely disrupts my life.

I become almost incapable of doing anything outside life’s absolute necessities, and compulsive watching, writing, thinking about whatever shiny new thing has hijacked my brain. So many other things I normally love to do go out the window – the hiking, the diving, the yoga, the socialising with RL friends, they’re all suddenly on the back-burner until that first rush of insanity starts to fade.

It was fine when I was a kid, and people expect you to be weird. It was definitely NOT fine when I was a teenager, and conformity is everything. As an adult, I can confine the most fanatical aspects of it to certain boxes, so it’s only obvious to the people I allow to see it, and not, say, my employers (though they get the side benefit of an irrepressibly happy me).

It's weird as hell, and it’s never exactly convenient. But at the same time, it’s AMAZING. I become a total Tigger of a person with an endlessly bouncing brain. Whatever mundane, tedious things I need to be doing, I can be transported out of them in a second just by shifting into the fantastic new world in my head. It becomes impossible for me to be anything other than excited.

I’ve fallen deliriously in love eight times since I met my spouse, and never had to go through a messy divorce, or find somewhere new to live, or argue over who gets custody of the cats. And the characters and the worlds I fall in love with are fictional, but the chemicals in my brain, that ‘dizzy, dancing way you feel’ as Joni Mitchell so perfectly puts it, they’re 100% real.

I can't conceive of how boring life would be without that. If life was just day to day reality, and work and grocery shopping and thinking maybe I should get my hair cut this week. How would it be possible to live permanently in the physical world, without an escape route? Without fantasy and idiocy and other equally crazy people to share it all with? I can’t imagine being any other way, and I love it :-)
tiggymalvern: (crazy or what)
On the diving trip to the Revillagigedos Islands, we played with the giant oceanic mantas, which are identified by the pattern of spots on their bellies. And I submitted photos of some of the mantas to the Pacific Manta Research Group. One of the mantas had only ever been seen once before, by one of their researchers, who give them numbers. So as the first civilian to submit its photo, I get to give it a name.

OMG the responsibility! They live for... well, we don't actually know how long they live. Some of the first ones identified nearly forty years ago are still with us, so at least that long. And the manta researchers are curious to hear the story behind the name, so I can't name it after anything too weirdly niche or fannish, whatever my first inclinations might be XD (And yes, given my current obsessive State of Brain, my very first inclination was to call it Burn Notice after the Gang of Four, but dear god, no).

This may take a few days, but what am I going to call a juvenile male manta with four spots on its belly?



Current thoughts are something like Snowshoe, because the four spots look a bit like the prints left in the snow by a snowshoe hare, or to name a black and white manta after our tuxedo cat. There are many mantas out there named after people's kids and pets - we would not be the first.

Profile

tiggymalvern: (Default)
tiggymalvern

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4567
891011121314
1516171819 2021
22232425 2627 28
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios