tiggymalvern: (action!)
[personal profile] tiggymalvern
Netflix Cowboy Bebop!

So, I obviously had some reservations about this, because how often do remakes of classics turn out to be good? And then I watched the first episode, and I was pretty positive about it. I liked all the Bebop crew - Spike, Jet and Faye were working out well. I LOVED that they kept so many aspects from the anime - the theme music, the titles, the See You Space Cowboy, the Japanese elements everywhere instead of Americanising everything. It was a great start!

And then I watched episode two and things took a considerable turn for the worse because Vicious had a central role. And instead of being mysterious, sinister and darkly dangerous, he was a snarky English thug. One who didn't seem to be all that smart. Ugh, really?

As the episodes went on, in general the ones I liked the best were the ones with the least of Vicious in them. The Bebop crew had awesome dialogue, their interactions were fabulous, and the actors are all a delight. Several of the supporting cast made great impressions too, particularly Ana and Gren. Some of the stories were crazy fun, exactly as they should be. Towards the end, there came an episode where even Vicious was more of what he should be. He was conniving and manipulative, devious and clever. I liked it even more! The end had some ups and downs, but there were a couple of twists that I was very much in favour of.

Overall, I was highly entertained by the whole thing, in spite of my irritations with Vicious, and I definitely want to see more. But that seems unlikely because it only scores 46% at Rotten Tomatoes. WHY?????? What is wrong with everyone??? Yes, it has flaws, of which Vicious is the main one, but dammit, everything else is so good that it massively outweighs the bad.

So if you're up in the air about Cowboy Bebop, give it a go. I really, really think it's worth your time.

Date: 2021-12-01 05:48 am (UTC)
bymyverytoes: (Default)
From: [personal profile] bymyverytoes
I dunno. Fucking with perfection always seems like a baaaad idea.

But I suspect it will be a long time before I can see this, let alone want to see it :)

Date: 2021-12-01 10:02 pm (UTC)
bymyverytoes: (Default)
From: [personal profile] bymyverytoes
One annoying character does not a failure make.

If they change Bebop to remove Faye or make her different, then they don't understand why she's like that.

I just don't find the idea of a live remake of an already remarkable series all that compelling. Not when there are hundreds of hours of good TV I am already ignoring out of ennui :)

Date: 2021-12-02 09:41 am (UTC)
tameiki: (FMA - Leg Rub)
From: [personal profile] tameiki
I'm up in the air about seeing this as I've read so many bad reviews (without spoilers). The trailer I saw wasn't tempting me, either, although I was impressed that the actor who plays Spike got his walk spot on! So, you think it's worth a watch, then?

Profile

tiggymalvern: (Default)
tiggymalvern

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 23 4567
891011121314
1516171819 2021
22232425 2627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 05:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios